Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, Receives Ministerial List

Nigeria’s Senate President and the Chairman of the 8th National Assembly, Dr Bukola Saraki confirmed receipt of the ministerial nominee list from President Muhammadu Buhari.

The list was submitted to Dr Saraki by the Chief of Staff to the President, Mr Abba Kyari and the SSA to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate),  Sen Ita S.J. Enang.

Dr Bukola Saraki confirmed the receipt via a tweet.


I can now confirm that I just received #Thelist of Ministerial nominees

Instead of thirty – six names, President Buhari sent twenty – one names as Ministerial nominees to the Senate President, with plans to send others very early on Tuesday before plenary session.

There was a new twist to the submission of Ministerial list to the Senate as it was received directly by the Senate President and brought by the Chief of Staff to the President as against the tradition where the office of the Senate President through the registry receives it from the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matter( Senate).

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, on Wednesday received the ministerial nominees list at about 4:56pm from the Presidency but said the content of the presidential communication would be read on Tuesday.

The PUNCH reported that a former Lagos State Governor, Babatunde Fashola; and a former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, made the list.

Also said to be on the list are Kayode Fayemi, a former governor of Ekiti State; a former Governor of Anambra State, Chris Ngige; and a one-time Governor of Abia State, Ogbonaya Onu.

Malami Abubakar, SAN, a former National Legal Adviser to the defunct Congress for Progressives Change; Aisha Alhassan, a former governorship candidate of the APC in Taraba State; and Amina Mohammed, a special adviser to the Secretary-General of the United nations, Ban Ki-Moon, also made the ministerial list. Same for a former finance commissioner in Ogun State, Kunle Adeosun.

Curiously, the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Ibe Kachikwu, is said to be on the list, perhaps to combine his headship of the NNPC with junior petroleum minister. portfolio. Buhari has already announced himself as the substantive Minister of Petroleum.

What about the people who are speculated to be on that famous list? Dele Momodu has written himself out.

Publisher of Ovation Magazine, Chief Dele Momodu has dispelled rumours that he is among the nominees in the anticipated ministerial list submitted by President Muhammadu Buhari to the senate on Wednesday.

Momodu made the rebuttal on being nominated as a minister by Buhari on his Twitter page while reacting to one Kelvin Olorode@Olorodey, a commentator on the social network who opined that momodu was interested in becoming a minister :


Oga, we all know you are after a ministerial slot, it’s nothing to be ashamed of. …

8:02 PM – 30 Sep 2015


Kindly spare me, I’m begging you in the name of God.

Another social commentator, @Woleprime, also took on the famous celebrity magazine publisher on the same issue, begging him to help broaden awareness on sustainable development if nominated.

To which Momodu re[pplied…

Not all campaigners can be in a cabinet.

You can’t blame me dear for rumours started by who I know not. I’ve told all close to me to treat it as. rumour.

Nothing but the rumour is suffocating and people get angry when I tell them the absolute truth!

Buhari had on Tuesday sent a letter to the Senate, seeking the confirmation of the appointment of Prof. Umaru Garba Danbatta as the Executive Vice-Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission, for a first term of five years.

Buhari in another letter sought the confirmation of the appointment of Dr. William Babatunde Fowler as Executive Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Board for a four-year term while in another letter, the President sought the confirmation of the appointment of the Managing Director and three executive directors for the Assets Management Company of Nigeria.

Leave a Reply