PDP Zoning Committee Promises Equity

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has assured its members of equitable zoning of all its national offices and elective political offices to give a sense of belonging to all parts of the country.

The Chairman of the party’s zoning committee and Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Udom Emmanuel, gave the assurance at Government House, Uyo after the committee’s inaugural meeting.


In an interview after the committee’s 4-hour meeting at the banquet hall of Government House, Governor Emmanuel said that the meeting was fruitful as many positive resolutions were arrived at.


He, however, did not give details of the resolutions regarding the zoning of political offices but promised that the party would make definite statements at the right time.


The committee is saddled with the responsibility of zoning elective political offices amongst the six geopolitical zones in the country.


The PDP has continually made known its intention to regain power at all levels in the 2019 general elections.


Special Committees

The party had constituted four special committees in preparation for its National Convention and the overall rebuilding and repositioning of the party.


The establishment of the committees was in line with the decision of the National Executive Committee of the party and the National Chairman, Senator Ali Modu-Sheriff.


The committees are the National Convention Committee, Reconciliation Committee, Zoning Committee and the Finance Committee.


The National Convention Committee has Rivers State Governor, Mr Nyesom Wike, as Chairman, Taraba State Governor, Mr Dairus Ishiaku, as Deputy Chairman and the Governor of Ebonyi State, Mr Dave Umahi as Secretary.


Similarly, the Reconciliation Committee has Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, as Chairman and Senator Ibrahim Mantu as Deputy Chairman while the Finance Committee has Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, as Chairman and Senator Godswill Akpabio as Deputy Chairman.


The Zoning Committee has Akwa-Ibom State Governor Emmanuel Udom as Chairman and Mr. Kelechi Igwe as Secretary.



Leave a Reply